Culture Shock?

That’s right, I think all of the Maranatha students go through culture shock to some extent when they go to the mall. I get so used to the clean language and modesty here that in a small way I forget what the real world is like. While some people may simply abide by rules because they must, I am thankful that the Lord is teaching me the heart reasoning behind rules.

Modesty is obviously a major issue in this arena. Every female must take a stand on modesty somewhere on the continuum, but most often comfort or selfishness is the most common reasoning for dress. Lately I have been thinking alot about how modesty runs much deeper to a heart of selflessness. Christian women must desire to seek the best for our brothers in Christ. We must dress with their best in mind, knowing that we should never use feminine power against any area of weakness they may have. I believe this attitude is something discussed in 1 Timothy 2:9-10 and Proverbs 31:12.

So I want to open this up to you. If you are a girl, tell me what the Lord has taught you on the subject of modesty. If you are a guy, tell us what a girl can do to best protect you. Sometimes we girls don’t think about things from your perspective because we don’t understand it. so enlighten us.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelsea
    May 04, 2006 @ 19:47:00

    Hey Stephi-wephi!!!

    It’s your little sis on blogger!! aren’t you excited? The blog’s lookin good! I hear you on the modesty thing. It’s SO hard in high school, where everything is about looks, and the pressure is so high to where things a little higher, lower, tighter, etc. This year especially. I’ve kept my ground, but its been a little rough. Luv luv luv you

    ~Klesh

    Reply

  2. jules
    May 04, 2006 @ 21:40:00

    cute new profile picture šŸ˜‰ i will comment more later – i need a night to gather thoughts! what a day! love u šŸ™‚ hope your projects went well!

    Reply

  3. Jiphanie110
    May 05, 2006 @ 05:29:00

    Hey Daisy!
    Don’t worry Ross doesn’t know about my blog…that would embarassing huh? Anyways, your blog looks like it is going to be a great encouragment to me! I can’t wait to read it as you update it! Have a tifferific day!

    Reply

  4. Ryan
    May 06, 2006 @ 13:14:00

    As a guy, I think one of the best things that a girl can do is dress modestly. It is not only a help to all guys but it shows me what kind of character a girl has. Unfortunately, we have to put a ton of effort into keeping our minds pure. When a girl dresses modestly it helps guys to keep our mind pure and to avoid temptation. It also shows quality character that wants to honor God, and it also forces us to look at not just physical attractions but character.

    Reply

  5. Stephanie
    May 06, 2006 @ 13:38:00

    For anyone who wants to know, Ryan is my brother who will be at Maranatha in the fall! Thanks for giving some guy talk Ed. I have such a great family…what a blessing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

