Sunday, May 14


Daily summary: Auntie Joyce, Uncle Pete, Ben, and I went to church, then out to eat at my uncle’s favorite restaurant. Let me give you a little background.

My uncle is Armenian, so he has a thick Armenian (middle-eastern) accent. One of his beloved Sunday haunts is a Chinese buffet called “Peking Palace.” With his accent, it sounds to the rest of us like he is saying “pecking palace.” For the longest time I could not figure out where we were eating dinner. Then I saw the sign and understanding dawned on me and I burst out laughing.

After this adventure, my cousins and their families and Ben came over for mother’s day. We were enjoying some cacophonic catching up when a tornado warning interrupted the previously ignored TV show. All of a sudden, a fearful hush fell over the room as we read the announcement. Then the excitement began.

We continually rushed from room to room, huddling around windows looking for a funnel cloud. I found that somewhat amusing and annerving, actually, because I’m pretty sure the meteorologists kept advising us to keep away from windows and get to a safe place…Oh well, I made it. We had a bad thunderstorm with hail (their first frozen precipitation in a long time…I was soon blamed for it’s onslaught.) It was an exciting night. We probably would have died had a tornado gone through our area as we huddled like minnows around every window. I’m glad God can factor our stupidity into His perfect plan for our lives :o)

This is Macy, her 4-year-old brother, Toby, and me during the storm

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jules
    May 23, 2006 @ 18:24:00

    very cute 🙂 sounds like an adventure, for sure…
    yah, 3 days of this crazy summer school! and looks like t-storms til friday, so i’m glad we took advantage of the beautiful day – i still can’t believe we got him outside!
    miss u…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

