At the King’s Table


I want to share something that I have been chewing on all day today. My pastor’s wife asked us the question in Sunday school “do you assess life like a slave under his/her master or a son or daughter of a King, feasting at His table?”

How often do we let a moral code differentiate us from unbelievers, then explain ourselves with excuses such as “well…I go to church,” or “I can’t do that because I’m a Christian.” Are we witnessing like slaves to Christ bound by a code of conduct? Or do we see the richness of God’s mercy and love for us and overflow with doxological praise as a result? When we realize the depth of God’s goodness and provision to us, a deep satisfaction should evidence itself in our lives that separates our perspectives from the world’s. We don’t need the vices of the world because we are satisfied with a joy and peace that is eternal. This kind of witnessing will have a farther reaching impact than dutiful preaching.

That is the thought the Lord has brought to mind throughout the day. I know it will most likely not impact in the same way it has me, but I pray that it will be thought-provoking. A fresh perspective can make all the difference.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    May 28, 2006 @ 21:14:00

    That is really thought provoking. I never really took the time to think about that. I missed the service at church today because I was in nursery. Sad huh?

    Reply

  2. Daisy
    May 28, 2006 @ 21:59:00

    I’m sorry you didn’t get the nourishment from the service, but you did serve your king today, and I know that He is proud that you did that for Him.

    Reply

  3. Amy
    May 28, 2006 @ 22:28:00

    Oh Steph how I miss you so. I can’t wait until the fall. You are always such an encouragement to me.

    Reply

  4. jajurabe
    May 30, 2006 @ 21:57:00

    hi Steph šŸ™‚ its Julie’s sis-in-law šŸ™‚ i just wanted to say thank you for the blurb. that was something i have just been dealing with starting at a new job. i want them to see me as a joyful, free christian not a chained, sad Baptist šŸ˜‰ not that the Baptist part is bad, you know what i mean šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

