Idle Worship??

Yes, that’s right, While at home, I don’t watch too much TV, but I religiously devote time to American Idol. I feel like its my equivalent to a guy arm-chair coaching a football game. Plus, I love to hear Randy’s post-modern-remarks (“hey Dawg, that wasn’t really it for me. But I’m sure it was good to someone else.) Paula parroting the same thing to every performer (“I love you and the world loves you.”) and Simon’s cynical acurracy.Last Wednesday was the season finale, the time when the more talented of the top two performers is elevated to worship status. In my opinion, Katherine McPhee should have won. She is beautiful, talented, and could easily adapt to multiple genres. But unfortunately Taylor Hicks won, the hoary-headed guy with pitch issues and incredibly unfortunate dance moves.

So now I blog, having worshipped in vain, let down that this Idol won’t meet my expectations.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    May 28, 2006 @ 21:11:00

    Personally, I thought they were all terrible and this season was a waste of tv time.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    May 29, 2006 @ 17:27:00

    I am glad to see someone else wastes their time on this show also. šŸ™‚ And I too wanted Katherine to win—Taylor scared me when he danced!!

    Reply

  3. Daisy
    May 29, 2006 @ 19:21:00

    Hi Sarah!

    I think they did Taylor a great injustice by letting him think that he could dance. Why does everyone think Simon doesn’t know what he’s talking about and Paula does?

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    May 29, 2006 @ 22:59:00

    Really!!! Simon is pretty much the only one who knows what he is talking about…..yet no one listens. šŸ™‚ Oh well, it makes great t.v. watching.
    I love checking up on your blog–it is fun and thought-provoking!

    Reply

  5. Anonymous
    Jun 02, 2006 @ 10:17:00

    Taylor Hicks is awesome.

    Reply

  6. Daisy
    Jun 09, 2006 @ 16:26:00

    How come I just noticed this comment?? I should remove that! What anathema!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

