Eminent Domain

I was watching Hannity & Colmes last night: Can anyone remind me what eminent domain’s purpose was/is? I’ll give you till Friday to answer, then I’m googling it.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. James
    May 30, 2006 @ 15:05:00

    where the government can buy your land, and you can’t say no.

    Reply

  2. Daisy
    May 30, 2006 @ 16:46:00

    For what purpose?

    Reply

  3. Charles Rangel
    Jun 01, 2006 @ 21:53:00

    the government can take your property through eminent domain for just about any reasons it wants. It used to be that it could
    only be for public projects like roads and parks and such, but a recent (idiotic) Supreme Court decision opened it up for the government to buy land and sell it to private developmers for just about any purposes–malls, housing, whatever.

    Reply

  4. Slim
    Jun 02, 2006 @ 15:32:00

    Steph, you watch Hannity and Colmes? You pretty much become like my 2nd or 3rd favorite person everytime I read your blog (don’t take it personally that you’re not #1, I’m sure you understand). I’m a big Hannity fan. I have both of Sean’s books (actually, I have a hard and soft covers of both, but I don’t know why) and I have Alan’s book too (it was given to me). Perhaps I’ve said to much.

    Em. Domain is just where the government can sieze your property and give you just compensation. Your property is siezed for the “better good” or “public good” or something phrased like that. Thats where the controversey comes in:
    (1.) Who determines the “better good” or “public good” of your property?
    (2.) Who determines “just compensation?”

    My favorite history minor didn’t know this? Really? I think you are just testing you readers knowledge. Look it up if you want, but I’m pretty sure I’m right. Tell me if I’m not.

    Reply

  5. Daisy
    Jun 03, 2006 @ 00:11:00

    Thanks for the input guys. I’ll have to ask political questions more often in order to get a mix of gender input. Slim…you are wise in giving the woman the benefit of the doubt. Remember that lesson-it will work well for you.

    “Charles,” I think you may have answered the question I was really getting at. Thanks for reading my mind…again. Oh wait, I think that it’s me that is the mind reader. But you’re getting good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

