You’ve Been Called to the Ministry!

(If you haven’t read my post “Resident Evil,” please read that first. Quotes are taken from War of Words by Paul David Tripp.)

In Resident Evil, I talked about deception of two things: our sin and our hearts. As Christians, we continually wage war against sin. We are deceived by it and always need the help of other Christians to fight sin. This is where we come in. We must help keep each other aware of our sinful condition. Tripp says “…the reason for this daily ministry is not a specific act of sin, but the overall condition of spiritual blindness that results from the deceitfulness of sin…This means that, this side of eternity, there is never a moment when I do not need your help! I need your daily ministry to me as long as sin remains within me.” (p.146)

Have you ever thought of Biblical confrontation that way? As a way to serve others? What about being confronted? “We are each called to serve and to be willing to be served.” (p.147) Do we ever view someone pointing their finger at our sin as an act of service to us? As a way for them to proverbially “wash our feet?” As surreal as it seems, that is the Biblical view and that is what each of us are called to.

So how does that affect our communication? First of all, we should communicate with an everyday readiness to minister. We are Christ’s instruments. Don’t wait till inside the church to minister, do it at every chance you can get: “everyone ministering everyday.”

While seeking everyday ministry opportunities, we should communicate with a spirit of humility (Eph 4:1-2). Something I frequently run through my mind is the phrase “live daily in the grace you were saved by.” I can’t earn God’s blessings on my day now anymore than I could earn His salvation. When this is realized, we can grasp onto the idea that God is the only one that can help the people we minister to. “I come in weakness and sin, to lead you to the only One who has strength and deliverance to offer!” (p.150)

What does a humble spirit look like? “there is a kindness, compassion, and gentleness that flows out of recognizing that we are brothers and sisters in the struggle, and that his grace is our only hope.” (p.150)

When we minister, what is our message? We should use opportunities to encourage people to keep on, encourage people to grasp God’s grace. “the grace of God never minimizes our sin, but it does give us a reason to face it, confess it, and forsake it. Grace is the only reason we have hope to continue our fight against sin. It is all we are called to offer others who blindly are beginning to turn away.” (p.152)

Wow. After reading and rereading this passage from the book as well as Scriptures, I know my toes are sore and I have a lot of changing to do. I hope you see the Lord changing me into someone more ready to humbly minister encouragement to those I come into contact with.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. oikonomos
    Jun 02, 2006 @ 20:16:00

    Excellent points-preach it…I look forward to reading that book soon, I’ve been told by someone else it’s a must read. Thanks for the post.

    Reply

  2. Kelsea
    Jun 06, 2006 @ 10:48:00

    hey stephi!
    I WOULD update my blog if you’d help me find out how to put up pics! It’s kind of crazy how we don’t see each other a lot and we live in the same house…hmmm…
    Anyway, I got the pics to come up on dad’s comp. if you want to try to figure out how to put them on a blog, that’d be GREAT!!

    Reply

  3. Daisy
    Jun 06, 2006 @ 16:44:00

    Oik: The book is a must read. It is not a book filled with do’s and don’t’s, but guiding principles on selfless speech.

    Klesh: I’d be more inclined to help you if you did NOT call me that.–>

    Reply

Leave a Reply

