So How Was Your Friday Night?


I bet mine was better! Friday night my dad put the boat in the water for the first time this year and I spent the evening with him on the beautiful Rainy River. It was an idyllic night to be out on the water. It was about 70 degrees and sunny with little humidity and no mosquitoes!! While out, we saw a bald eagle and his eaglets in a nest and fishing jumping in the river (I saw a huge sturgeon jump. It must have been over 3 feet long). Dad fished a little bit and caught two walleye and a small-mouth bass right away. If anyone is wishin’ they were fishin’, this is the place to come!

Such beautiful Minnesota nights remind me of my favorite Minnesota quote by Sinclair Lewis: “No place has more beautiful days than Minnesota, when it behaves.” Being out on the water reminds me time and again how God’s creation exhorts us to worship Him. He takes joy in adorning it and we can see His handiwork in its many intricate details.

If it works, I’ll post some pictures from Friday night. I have been trying to post since Saturday, so if anyone checks this anymore, sorry for the delay. It’s the site’s fault!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Luke
    Jun 07, 2006 @ 23:22:00

    Looks like a fun Friday. My Friday wasn’t as good as yours, but my Tuesday evening was! A good friend, lawn chairs, shotguns, an AR-15, some nice shade, and lots of targets! I forgot the Pepsi otherwise it would have been absolutely perfect. I better just leave it at that.

    Anyway, I thought I’d get back to you on the whole socks with sandals thing. First, let me start off with the caveat that I never wear socks with the strap type sandals. Next, for my dilemma of sock transportation to the gym/sporting events, I was going to take your advice and go for the socks stored in shoes approach. However, as I prepped for my softball game Monday evening, I realized that I’d left my cleats in the car. So, in the end, I was left with no other choice than to wear my socks. Fortunately, there were no eligible women present, so I don’t think I have endangered my chances of getting a girlfriend.

    Reply

  2. Daisy
    Jun 08, 2006 @ 07:02:00

    Hey, man, I’m only trying to help you out here. Take it or leave it. There’s only so much I can do.

    Reply

  3. Daisy
    Jun 09, 2006 @ 21:56:00

    Oh, for any rookies out there, my feet are propped up on a trolling motor in the first pic. Did anyone wonder?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

