Hidden Treasures!


When my grandpa died, my mom was able to inherit some of his possessions. We got some cheap stuff, really great tools, and this easel. We were told that it was my grandpa’s desk. the chalkboard flips down to be used as a desk. At the top of this versatile piece is a turnstile with a plethora of educational information, such as birds, fruits, architecture, music, the American flags, and the presidents of the United States. That is the truly amazing page. As you can see, the last president listed was Woodrow Wilson and his term had not expired at the time this easel was crafted. I know this is not something that many of you will probably have any appreciation for, but hey, it’s a piece of history and better yet, one that relates to me.

So what stories does your furniture tell?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelsea
    Jun 10, 2006 @ 01:28:00

    I love that easel!

    Quick question:
    Why am I keeping up with blogger when NO ONE I know reads it? its kind of pointless if you ask me. its more of a college thing.

    Reply

  2. Daisy
    Jun 10, 2006 @ 13:30:00

    Yeah, that is true. I do it so that when I’m far away from friends and family, they can still have a picture of what my life is like. I don’t know that it is a huge deal now, just a time-consumer. I check it though, if that’s any consolation!

    Reply

  3. Carla Jane
    Jun 10, 2006 @ 13:55:00

    Hey my grandma has one of those too! Crazy! My sister and I would play with it all the time when we were kids! I miss you steph!

    Reply

  4. jules
    Jun 10, 2006 @ 14:43:00

    cool! i don’t know that we have much inherited furniture around here… hmmmm 🙂 i miss u. sounds like u’ve been busy busy — about time for another phone call, i feel 😉

    Reply

  5. Amy
    Jun 10, 2006 @ 22:21:00

    That easel is pretty cool. I don’t know that I have any cool furniture in my house. Nothing in my house really says anything about anything.

    Oh and I have to agree with Kelsea about the whole keeping up with blogger thing. No one ever reads mine either.

    Reply

  6. Sarah
    Jun 12, 2006 @ 15:16:00

    Most of the furniture in my house tells stories of finding the pieces on the side of the road or out of an old lady’s basement. 🙂
    The only “historic furniture” I own
    is an old stepstool that my grandma made for me when I was little.
    Please inform Kelsea that sometimes when I am bored and scanning blogs for entertainment, I check hers out. If that makes her feel any better at all…!

    Reply

  7. Daisy
    Jun 12, 2006 @ 16:14:00

    Thanks Sarah, I’m sure she is charmed. Every little bit helps!

    Reply

  8. Slim
    Jun 13, 2006 @ 15:19:00

    I need to go ask my grandparents for old furniture.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

