Double Deuce

Thanks for all the fun little notes many of you have sent me. I just had a birthday recently and it was a lot of fun! Gail, a dearly beloved friend of mine, insists every year on getting a picture of me with her gift and cake. This year mint Oreo ice cream pie was on the menu. It is phenomenal-if anyone wants the recipe, leave me a comment or something.

Each year we get to pick the dinner menu and what kind of a cake we want. I planned out my delectable pallete-pleaser, but there was a dilemma. We have been so busy this summer that we couldn’t figure out a good time to celebrate. The best idea for the family was a split-custody arrangement. I had my birthday dinner the night before, then opened my presents the morning of my birthday.

It was still too busy the night before, so Mom and I ran around the kitchen that night. I prepped for my birthday meal and she prepped for the Father’s Day meal. I ended up having the privilege of making my entire birthday dinner! I steamed broccoli, made rice pilaf, threw together a salad and made my peanut ice cream pie. I’ll give credit to the guys for grilling the meat. It was great!

The next morning I got up and had a special breakfast with Mom and Dad. Then I woke up my crabby-pants sister and opened presents.

I thought that was it, but Gail arranged a little party Sunday night (hence the mint oreo pie) and gave me my eighth annual cookbook! I’m running out of room for all of them! It was so fun to have some church friends over and just relax, eat pizza, and talk about hockey and grandkids.

For those of you who asked, that was the birthday lowdown! Thanks for making it a fun one by thinking of me.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jules
    Jun 21, 2006 @ 11:47:00

    it’s so fun to hear all about it, thanks for humoring me šŸ˜‰ u look lovely and not even another year older… miss u lots!

    Reply

  2. Amy
    Jun 21, 2006 @ 13:06:00

    Happy belated Birthday. Sorry it didn’t come sooner, but it would have had I known. Mines coming up too. The big 18. Kinda scary if you ask me. Well, I am glad that all went well. I miss ya, and can’t wait until August.

    Reply

  3. Carla Jane
    Jun 21, 2006 @ 14:00:00

    Happy Birthday Steph! I feel like the worst friend ever! I love you so much! I’m sorry that my birthday wishes are belated! I’m glad to hear your day was a good one! I miss you lots! It’s good to hear that all is going well! LOVE YOU!!!

    Reply

  4. Anonymous
    Jun 21, 2006 @ 16:51:00

    Who sent you those gorgeous flowers?

    Reply

  5. Daisy
    Jun 21, 2006 @ 17:02:00

    Someone with exquisite taste.

    Reply

  6. Kim
    Jun 23, 2006 @ 12:39:00

    Hey Steph,
    Okay, I think I will make all the other people who gave you belated birthday wishes feel better because I am giving it to you now. Ahh!!! I am so sorry that I am really late, but I don’t think I even knew it was your birthday until I checked these previous posts today. So HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! I am glad to hear that all went well for you. I was also wondering if I could have the recipe for your Mint Oreo pie thingy and also for you peanut ice cream or whatever it was that you made. Thanks! You can send it to faithfulprincess@sbcglobal.net Thanks. Let me know too how your summer is going.

    Reply

  7. Daisy
    Jun 23, 2006 @ 16:06:00

    Hi Kimmy!
    Thanks so much for posting a comment on my blog! Do so as much as you want. I’ll email you those recipes as soon as I dig them out again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

