Accents, eh?


Someone made a remark to me recently that they thought the Pennsylvanian accent was the most annoying accent they’d ever heard. What a distasteful thought! A most annoying accent? And one that I used to have a heavy dose of?

Is there such a thing as a “most annoying accent?” What is it and why is it annoying??

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelsea
    Jul 30, 2006 @ 15:35:00

    Look at me, checking the blog again…! I like this one.

    Reply

  2. Kelsea
    Jul 30, 2006 @ 16:11:00

    No stephanie, there isn’t a “most annoying accent” to me. happy now?

    Reply

  3. Daisy
    Jul 30, 2006 @ 16:14:00

    Glad you liked it so much that you READ it…just kidding. Thanks for commenting.

    I love the U.S. dialects–southern is charming, east coast/new england is historic, northern is…well…entertainment.

    I do have to say that I do find the “computer helpline” accent annoying. You know the one. When you are having a problem communicating about your computer in the first place, you call the helpline, and talk to someone in INDIA and can’t understand them anyway.

    Reply

  4. Kelsea
    Jul 31, 2006 @ 13:06:00

    Hmmm…
    I definitely know what your talking about. Especially since I had to fix my camera and talk with Service people like that.
    Grr…

    Reply

  5. Slim
    Jul 31, 2006 @ 14:37:00

    Steph, you and me have been through this before: US PA’ers don’t have accents.

    Remember last summer school when I asked you why you didn’t have an annoying Minnesotian Accent? And you reminded me how you were from PA? And I felt really dumb? And now I date a girl from Minnesota?

    Moral of the story: Accents are all relative, and pretty cool.

    (Most annoying accent: people who immitate a Boston accent. They don’t do it right.)

    Reply

  6. Slim
    Jul 31, 2006 @ 14:37:00

    This post has been removed by the author.

    Reply

  7. justinic9
    Jul 31, 2006 @ 14:43:00

    Is this post a response to my struggle to acquire a Minnesota accent during my brief stay there? Cause if so, I’m offended. OK, not really. Slim’s right–a poorly attempted accent is the most annoying.

    Reply

  8. Daisy
    Jul 31, 2006 @ 16:23:00

    Slim, your wisdom is sage and a true gift.

    Justinic (what does that stand for anyway?) if you tried to acquire an accent, you did a poor job at imitating it. And we know how we feel about those, dontchaknow?

    Reply

  9. PinkAngel
    Aug 01, 2006 @ 09:07:00

    I hate to admit that I was this shallow, but in my MBBC days, I refused to go out with a guy who kept asking, partially because I couldn’t stand his PA accent. I know…that’s really bad.

    Reply

  10. Daisy
    Aug 01, 2006 @ 16:22:00

    For shame, PinkAngel. That is very bad. I’m hanging my head for you.

    But what if you had gone out with him? You would have been driven nuts by his accent and if you married him, would have had children with little PA accents. Then you would have had to live with your decision for the rest of your life. Good choice in turning him down. At least he knew he didn’t stand a chance.

    Does the accent thing run in the family?

    Reply

  11. PinkAngel
    Aug 02, 2006 @ 07:42:00

    Well, I guess I kind of gave him a chance. I played Rook with him and his friends in the Student Center once. All his friends knew he was trying to get me to go out…it was kind of weird.

    As far as I know, I’m the only one who has issues. I would assume that my younger one COULD be like that, but he married one with an accent. And if my wonderful sister-in-law is reading, the Canadian accent is cute!!

    Reply

  12. Daisy
    Aug 02, 2006 @ 07:47:00

    I don’t think you’re the only one with issues. Not even the only one with accent issues :o)

    Reply

  13. Bob Shaffer
    Aug 02, 2006 @ 22:05:00

    I did not even know that accents were annoying. I’m a type of person that loves to talk to people w/ a different accent. I don’t know why…Its just interesting.

    Reply

  14. Low Jake Advises
    Aug 03, 2006 @ 22:37:00

    Well, Daisy, I like your blog and I guess I’ll just throw in that accents are a very beautiful part of human interaction. In the fourth grade I met my new aunt just up from Texas into our Central Oregonian home. Her natural beauty and fantastic accent opened up my world to appreciating other accents, i.e., Scottish, Iranian, Vietnamese, etc. that I enjoy so much in my teaching career, down here in the foolish land of California. I agree that a poorly faked Boston accent is not appealing. Thanks for having such a nice blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

