On the outside looking in


Last night I had the opportunity of going to State Street to pass out tracts and witness to people. One thought that kept running through my head all night was, “these people have no hope. They are on the outside looking in.”

The Lord allowed me to talk to several people in depth last night and there were some wide ranging beliefs out there. I talked with (listened to) a Darwinian post-modernist who was convinced that Jesus was a myth and the Bible cannot be real because it was translated from other languages. His philosophy was that the hope we have is to leave good behind for future generations…no afterlife, no reward, nothing. I sat there listening to his purpose in life and felt despair for him. I’m so thankful I have a purpose to live for more than leaving good behind for future generations. He wouldn’t listen to me, but he did take a tract.

Another man I talked to, Daniel, was very open to listening to me. He acknowledged his sinfulness and that none of us would qualify for heaven, but when I was just about to tell him about the hope we can have in Christ, he just decided he wanted to leave. He didn’t want to take the tract and he just said goodnight and left.

While those two stories were discouraging, I passed out some tracts to two girls who stopped and read them for a minute then got excited and said, “We’re Christians too!!!” They were moving to Asheville, NC to help with a church plant in the next several months. They took the time to talk with me a little bit, then prayed with me and left. They were such a blessing and encouragement!

At times like those, I reminded myself that it wasn’t anything I would have done that would have saved people anyway. I pray that the Lord would water the seeds he let me plant in those people last night because it is God that gives the increase!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jules
    Sep 11, 2006 @ 19:13:00

    steph, thanks for that encouragement. it’s good to share stories like that…
    (u should post it on the state street blog, r u a member on it? talk to dave marriot!)

    Reply

  2. Dave Marriott
    Sep 11, 2006 @ 23:36:00

    yeah steph…i can invite you to post your thoughts on the state street blog…that’s it you are getting invited…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

