Looking Unto Jesus

“Has it ever occurred to you that one hundred pianos all tuned to the same fork are automatically tuned to each other? They are of one accord by being tuned, not to each other, but to one standard to which each one must individually bow. So one hundred worshipers met together, each one looking away to Christ, are in heart nearer to each other than they could possibly be were they to become “unity” conscious and turn their eyes away from God to strive for closer fellowship.” A.W. Tozer

“If I throw out a boathook from the boat and catch hold of the shore and pull, do I pull the shore to me, or do I pull myself to the shore? Prayer is not pulling God to my will, but the aligning of my will to the will of God” E. Stanley Jones

On the trip to Kansas, the Lord used Hebrews 12:1-2 and these quotes to channel my thoughts in worship to Him.

I have especially been meditating on two phrases from the Hebrews passage. Verse one exhorts us to “…throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles…” Verse two contains the powerful phrase “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith…”

How do we know when we are hindered? When something takes our eyes off of our Savior who paid His blood for our hearts. Besides sin, there are burdens and weights that will hold us back from focused worship. But when we look to Jesus, those burdens, pains, trials, etc. pale in comparison to the beauty of our Savior.

When we bring the weights and burdens that hinder us to the Lord, and leave them there, we conform ourselves to Christ. We submit to His will and realize that we can throw out our boathook request, but as we look to Him for guidance, he pulls us to Him.

My heart and mind are overwhelmed with these reminders of God’s goodness. I know I’m just starting to understand the meaning of true worship!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jules
    Nov 10, 2006 @ 18:51:00

    stephanie! i love the quote about the tuning instrument, and the comparison to unity. it is such a funnel to true worship.
    i am also thankful for the reminders throughout your post of just being focused on God.
    thank you for your testimony, you are a dear friend πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Jodi
    Nov 11, 2006 @ 06:55:00

    What fun times…I miss college when I see your blog! I miss having fun yet being spiritually challenged with friends. What a good reminder to keep our eyes and focus on Christ…something He is teaching me a lot about lately.
    I miss you!!! Love ya, Jodi

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Nov 12, 2006 @ 16:22:00

    Hey, I posted a comment on here, but now it is gone. Are you trying to censor me, Daisy???!!!
    (I will just assume that Blogger messed up, until you are proven guilty!) πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Nov 12, 2006 @ 16:23:00

    By the way, my comment was that I was blessed by your thoughts in this post. I was having an especially “bad” day with my two children and feeling sorry for myself–and this was just what I needed to hear! Thanks for sharing….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

