Quote for the Day

        “We are half-hearted creatures fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.” ~ C.S. Lewis (in Desiring God by John Piper)

        Let us not let the gifts and possessions we received yesterday satisfy us now, like mudpies, when our Savior can and should incredibly delight us!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 21:10:53

    Ahh, Daisy–another one of my favorite quotes….I think we would have been very good friends, had we had the time to cultivate a friendship. 🙂 Not that we cannot be “blog friends”, but it is not quite the same.
    I am glad you have decorations of your own. My mom gave me some of my childhood decorations before I got married, so that I could have a normal looking tree….Charlie Brown trees are fun too though. 🙂

    Reply

  2. twenty4karat
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 18:44:16

    My mom did that too! If I had a Charlie Brown tree, I think I would still be proud of myself for having my very own tree. It would be kind of depressing, however, if all I could afford was a little tree, you know, the mini trees that stand about 12 inches tall? That would make me sad!

    And, yes, I think we would have had a very fun and entertaining friendship in person…you and your future sister-in-law have a very similar sense of humor. Well, onward to e-friendships, right? Happy New Year!

    Reply

  3. Jenn Luttrull
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 02:05:52

    hey you! how are you enjoying your new found freedom? lol. we sure do miss you up here. hey, i really like this quote. i think i’m gonna put it on my blog. = )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

