XoxOxXO

What movie is the title from?

      I have to admit it: I love Valentines Day! I will dress up for the occasion and try to find a way to celebrate somehow. Today, I read a little ditty on the history of Valentines day to all my classes, which was really interesting. Here is what I learned:

      Valentines Day is the second largest holiday for greeting card sales only to Christmas.

      85% of Valentines gifts are purchased by women. Wait a minute…women?? As one of my eighth graders blurted out this morning (at the top of her lungs) “It’s the guys turn to STEP IT UP!”

      Most of my middle schoolers guessed that the 85% came from men…especially a couple of my brave, but disheartened boys who gave gifts to girls they had been secretly admiring, but to no avail.

      Ahh…middle schoolers. I have to admit, I was surprised to receive four candy bars from my beloved brats. They must be up to something.

      Besides having my fill of chocolate (which reminds me, I am currently snacking on homemade chocolate pudding!) I am here alone. I think this is the first Valentines day where I have truly been all by myself. There are just no people around. It is strange, but that is okay. I think I’ll remember this Valentine’s Day.

     About a year ago, the Lord impressed upon my heart the need to start my love story now and with him. If there is one thing that I want to tell girls who are younger than I am, it is this: be purposeful. Purpose to love God zealously now, while you have time. Then purpose to treat men as if your future husband were able to see your interactions. Prov 31:12 says that “she does her husband good and not evil all the days of her life.” Those days for us are now. Would he be honored by the way you treat men, able to see that you are saving as much of your heart as possible for one person? I have often been reminded and convicted of these thoughts over the past year and thought I’d share them with you.

Happy Valentines Day!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jules
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 22:48:50

    interesting findings… all these women spending money on men 😉 surprising! i would think those flowers would cost a lot! lol…

    and as far as being alone… yah, although i’m not “alone alone,” i thought i was going to be the only girl in my room who didn’t get a big bunch of flowers, but by the end of the night, one of my friends got me a rose! 🙂 awwwwwww….

    thanks for the lesson and challenge at the end, it’s always good to hear that again.

    Reply

  2. jules
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 22:49:32

    interesting findings… all these women spending money on men 😉 surprising! i would think those flowers would cost a lot! lol…
    and as far as being alone… yah, although i’m not “alone alone,” i thought i was going to be the only girl in my room who didn’t get a big bunch of flowers, but by the end of the night, one of my friends got me a rose! 🙂 awwwwwww….
    thanks for the lesson and challenge at the end, it’s always good to hear that again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

