A Height Premium

I am certainly learning more now with my 6-8th graders than I did in classes. At first I felt bad about this conundrum, but now I have accepted, in fact embraced this delight. Mr. Handyside observed me today, and besides the stomachache accompanying my nervousness, classes proceeded very well. He informed me of an interesting factoid I will share with you.

Get this: taller people are more likely to be hired…in fact, taller people are more likely to receive higher paying jobs or management positions than short people. Woot Woot!

Also: I am one of the only people I know who can say that I live neither east nor west of the Mississippi. In fact my home is one of the few places country which is simply north of the Mississippi!

While most of my home state was added to the U.S. as a part of the Louisiana purchase in 1803, my little northern nook actually became a part of the union prior to that. My hometown just barely fit into what is called “the old northwest” which includes Indiana, Illinois, and Southern WI!

Concluding this post are pictures of my team (Ben, K-dawg, me, and Tom) during our digital dash. After Artist Series, Christina created the digital dash for approximately 12 of us to compete in. Then we met at a truckstop for dessert. The last picture o

valentine.jpg

hiding.jpg

silly-smirks.jpg

gorilla.jpg

Above: Christina and Amber coerced us into playing “Gorilla” which is a little yelling contest. Well, there were two other tables of high schoolers in that room, so we snapped a picture with the table that began to make fun of us. Eventually the whole room was playing gorilla with our outrageous group!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jodi
    Feb 22, 2007 @ 11:22:11

    Taller people…what? I don’t know about that…maybe he just told you that to make you feel better! ;o)
    I wish you were here to laugh with me or at me…or both. Funny story! Well, I guess I will have to call you sometime…I keep mentioning that don’t I??? Oops! Well, maybe I’ll try again this weekend…

    Reply

  2. jules
    Feb 24, 2007 @ 17:53:25

    great pictures! loved the interesting post! (i want to know what gorilla is all about btw…)
    xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

