Mystery Meal

aspaghetti.jpg

What started out as chili, ended as spaghetti…or did it? This afternoon, Mom called from work to ask me to check the chili. As I was stirring and chattering away with my beloved maternal, I mentioned “hey…this doesn’t really look like chili, Mom–there aren’t any beans.” She laughed and said “you know what? I probably labeled the container incorrectly–it’s probably Grandma’s spaghetti sauce.” So nix chili cheese dogs for the night, and start prepping spaghetti and garlic breadsticks.

When everyone arrived at home and conglomerated in the kitchen, another discovery was made. The glop in the crock did not really smell like spaghetti sauce. So what was it?

As suggestions flew around the table, we sat down with our bowl of spaghetti, our basket of garlic breadsticks, and tentatively piled on the mystery sauce, otherwise known as sloppy joe filling! For future reference, barbecued spaghetti really can be a pallete pleaser.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jules
    Apr 06, 2007 @ 04:16:13

    hahahaaa!!! that’s hilarious! 🙂
    well, i love bacon, so i got a chicken tender melt sandwich and a pumpkin muffin 🙂 YUMMMM!
    anyway,
    have a wonderful break, dear! love you!!!

    Reply

  2. Jodi
    Apr 08, 2007 @ 14:54:02

    Julie just made me think of Perkins…YUM!
    Anyway, I was just going to say that we eat sloppy joe filling on rice here…and spaghetti sauce for that matter…everything is good with rice, why not sloppy joe smothered spaghetti noodles?? :o)

    Reply

  3. Daisy
    Apr 08, 2007 @ 19:45:49

    Jodith, that’s funny, because Jules was talking about a trip she made to Perkins! Funny! And that is what we said too: you’d eat the sloppy joe on bread…this is a starch…so why is it any different? Okay, so it is definitely different, but it’s all in your mind!

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Apr 08, 2007 @ 22:24:41

    I think that could be added to your oopsadaisies….but I guess it was actually your mom’s oops this time. 🙂 I was chuckling about this one–I can just imagine your family sitting down to your mystery meal.
    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I am able to keep up with my blogging since I am home for 6 weeks. After that, I cannot promise anything! 🙂 See you in a few….?

    Reply

  5. Daisy
    Apr 09, 2007 @ 03:07:08

    Definately!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

