Stained Glass Ghetto

cathedral.jpgcathedral.jpg

Throughout history, we have heard opposition to God’s Word. The 17th century brought the craze of rationalism, which said that the scientific method (or the physical) must prove the spiritual (right? hmm…). Moral relativism, especially strong in the 1920’s, influenced people to believe that there is no right or wrong. And, of course, the current favorite flavor: postmodernism, which says that all belief systems are equal. All these efforts to stuff Christianity into a stained glass ghetto.

So, how do Christians respond to this deception? Dr. Frank Wright , in his speech “Keeping the Doors Open: Media and the Gospel” recommended to “inject truth into the marketplace of ideas any chance you can.” Good advice, but what does that mean?

The reason I write this little piece is because I have noticed an increase of postmodernistic attitude in myself. Whether it be me coaching myself not to be “judgmental” toward an unsaved person I am conversing with, or me excusing my sin by saying “just because they can’t handle it does not make it wrong for me.” I have believed the lie so much more than I realized and have been mulling that over this evening. So I need to compare my ideas to Scripture so much more than I do. I need to inject truth into my “idea marketplace.” This summer I will be examining lies I’ve bought into and retraining my mind according to scripture. Along with my physical calisthenics, I hope I will strengthen my spiritual shape. Now…on to devotions :o)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 20:39:40

    Daisy, I am glad you are “back”! I missed you and your thought-provoking or sometimes crazy posts. 🙂
    Hopefully I can make good on a few “girls’ nights” with you this school year!
    A good (PRACTICAL) book that goes along with retraining your thinking is “Lies Women Believe and the Truth That Sets Them Free” by Nancy Leigh DeMoss. It is an awesome book for diffusing the secular reasoning that gets tangled up with our spiritual thinking. It is also good for counseling with women–which I am sure you will be doing a little of this year. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Daisy
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 22:05:09

    You make me smile, Sarah. That book and a radio broadcast I was listening to prompted this post. I’m actually doing the Bible study in Ladies’ Sunday School. It has been very…convicting, but good for me! I can see how it would be good to use, and I hope to do so this fall.

    Reply

  3. juliana
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 09:33:15

    It is unfortunate that such closed thinking continues to exist in this country. If people like you still had their way, those who didnt believe as you (spiritualists (such as me, native american), or what you have called in the past century or two “heathens”, homosexuals (two spirited people), those who believe in abortion (the right to choose), would all be burned at the stake, beheaded, chained up in a castle, or worse FORCED to be reformed to believe by you.

    as a Native American woman, i am glad to have my faith in my culture and spiritualism, and my belief in my road to “decolonization”..and i hope that native people continue to break these chains of colonialism, such as conservative religions of european beliefs (christianity)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

