The Word is Alive

I want to raise a testimony unto the Lord of His powerful working in my life. I normally prefer specificity in my writing and reading, however, with this issue, pardon my vagueness. I have been struggling with contentedness and lack of immediate answers with an area in my life. While observing a counseling session, I listened to the counselor make a very impacting statement to the counselee. She remarked “So you’ve prayed about it. That’s you talking to God. What has God said back to you through His word?” I pondered that thought for a moment, initially thinking “Wait a minute…that sounds so conversational. Does that really happen?”

             You will also have to pardon my lack of spiritual depth in the area of conversing with God. I am learning much about communing with Him. I knew in my head that God’s word was powerful and sharper than any two-edged sword, but for some reason, I’d categorized that with the conviction of the unregenerate, or those in blatant sin. I did not apply it to desires. 

      So, I sat before God’s throne and laid my desire down at His feet. I acknowledged that it existed, that I wanted it, and that God alone could provide. In fact I was specific and, to be frank, honest for the first time in a while. I think that many times we believers practice a small form of atheism by only telling God our general desires, not our specific ones (ones that, of course, are not sinful). And once we have admitted that we want something in general, we quickly justify it with the “if it’s Your will,” clause. Don’t mistake me, this is a perfectly suitable clause to bring before the Almighty King, but if our shamefacedness to admit our specific desires does not provoke honesty before our Abba Father, we have a problem. 

      After unloading my burden and confessing my lack of trust, I proceeded with my study in the book of John. I read chapter 14 and rejoiced at the power with which God used verses 13-14: “Whatever you ask in my name, that I will do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.” WOW! I had prayed specifically “Lord I have this desire and I desire it in order to glorify Your Son.” I have been so comforted and reassured by that passage in the days since then, when the doubts and fears have arisen and I have been tempted to not believe God’s promise to me. Since then I have made a regular practice of laying myself wide open and honest before my Creator and studying His word contextually. Conversing with God is much better than talking to Him.   

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jodi
    Jan 15, 2008 @ 04:05:05

    Daisy….

    I know that we talked about this the last time that we talked on the phone…but it was good for me to hear again! I love that the Lord knows what is best, and sometimes the best is for me to wait! I am glad that He is teaching me that.

    I am also glad that you are blogging again…me too. At least I am not the only neglegant one. :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

