Going Down in History

     There is no doubt that, while my embarrassing moments truly do embarrass me, I really love laughing at them. And evidently so do others, so strap in for a ride as I begin to share my oft-requested, all-time, most embarrassing oopsadaisies!

     One fateful day, I entered history class with a tinge more fervor for the class (or my coffee) than usual. Little did I know the dividends this energy would pay… I chattered bubbily with the surrounding students, then listened attentively while Dr. Perdue opened class. Out of the corner of my eye, I noticed a very attractive male visitor slip into the rear of the class. Dr. Perdue had planned a video for the day, and, without fail, the technology he needed was hassling him. Of course, that meant that I began chattering away again…and encouraging the boys I sat by to be hospitable to the new visitor. I certainly couldn’t be the one to initiate conversation with him as I did not want to be forward.

     While we began talking with this visitor, Dr. Perdue got the sound system hooked up improperly, emitting two richter-scale magnitude beeps. I happen to be a very excitable person and before I even processed how much those beeps had scared me, I looked up to see all my appendages flailed out in front of me. That is one of the oddest feelings ever-thinking “why are my hands and feet splayed straight out in front of me without my permission?”

     When the proverbial dust settled from all that racket, I began to notice how loud the class next door was. “If I think they are loud,” I mused, “I bet they are really irritated with us right now.” Soon afterwards, Dr. Perdue accurately hooked up the sound system to the DVD player…at the same volume as those eardrum shattering beeps! This time, however, I was clearly in control of my reactions. I jumped up and started to run to the back of the room to shut the door. As I neared the door (and the visitor) I tripped on someone’s backpack strap and began careening forward at a precarious angle. I dove headlong into the floor, crumpling in a heap, as it would happen, at our attractive guest’s feet!

     “Are you okay? Can I help you up?” he asked.

     I abruptly held up my hand to silence him, “mmm….I don’t want to talk about it.”

     “Are you sure you are okay? I could help you up.”

     I was weighing my options. At this point, I much preferred anonymity to his help, so I shushed him a second time. Just after thinking no one had noticed, Dr. Perdue cranked his neck around to see me lying on the floor and bellowed “Miss Daisy, whatever are you doing on the floor?!” I turned all varieties of red as the entire class turned to inspect. He continued, “Well, Joshua, at least you can return to California saying you had the MBBC girls falling at your feet!”

     This was the first time I ever told a professor to shut up.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jodi
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 03:54:29

    Ahhh Hahahaha….I think I may have laughed harder this time reading it than I did the first time. I had to share it with my friends in the coffee shop, since I broke the calmness with my hearty laughter!! Thanks for the laugh!
    Love you!

    Reply

  2. Daisy
    Jan 20, 2008 @ 00:26:18

    I forgot to mention that the visitor attended school here the following fall…no pun intended!

    Reply

  3. joy mccarnan
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 03:59:15

    ok, the title alone is PERFECT.
    i’d like to hear more about what happened AFTER the “shut up” was emitted….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

