Mental Math

screaming-woman.jpg

 I have discovered two facts about myself: 

1. When I am in the dining hall, I will inevitably make a scene (whether I want to or not) 

2. When I am concentrating intently on something, I am easily excitable. 

     For instance, in the dining hall today, I picked up a glass and the one under it stuck to it and released just as I was flipping the cup upright, so the extra one sailed through the air, smacked a boy and clattered all over the floor as he graciously attempted to catch it. A particularly amused professor walked past, tapped my shoulder and laughed “now THAT’S something I would do!”

     I eventually left the dining hall and began doing some mental math while walked to another building. Unbeknownst to me, another staff-member was gaining on me and decided to initiate conversation. “Well how is the…” he began. The rest of his question was lost in space as I looked him straight in the eye, threw my hands up in the air, and screamed in his face. He is a “wobbly” sort of man, so he shook in response and turned a frightening ashen color. “I-I’m so sorry,” he stuttered, “I really didn’t intend to startle you!” I heard a muffled laugh and turned to see the previously amused professor following me. 

     She’s probably wondering about my nervous system right about now…but then again, so am I. 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rocketc
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 20:49:40

    This is Sarah actually….I am just too lazy to logout of my hubby’s account. 🙂
    That picture is really frightening; but I can totally see you making that face!

    Reply

  2. Daisy
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 17:44:54

    Oh my, do I EVER make that face. And I generally clasp my left hand over my heart…unless you REALLY nail me. Then my hands shoot out in front of me involuntarily. And like I said, many times I will look you straight in the face and scream…likely blowing the haird straight back from your head. I laugh really hard every time I look at that picture!

    Reply

  3. jules
    Feb 24, 2008 @ 06:46:04

    HAHAAA~ i could totally picture that 🙂 makes me miss you so much!!!

    Reply

  4. banally
    May 28, 2008 @ 17:19:54

    banally says : I absolutely agree with this !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

