The Ripple Effect

After a year of full-time ministry, I have learned some interesting lessons:

My main-building key will NOT open my Honda.

Despite the severity of a student’s medical situation, I will NOT respond cognizantly at 3:45 am…especially in the middle of a REM cycle. I will, however be awake enough to prescribe tums and walk you to your bed.

Oil-based primer does not come off of skin for a loooong time.

I really do have a garbage disposal-it’s called the toilet.

“Not having time” for devotions will have far-reaching impacts on a ministry

Self-centeredness will transform a ministry.

At the end of the semester, I reflected on this year’s ministry. I think the thing that disturbed me the most was how my own selfishness could impact an entire ministry. Yes, it was a small decision: “I was up until 2 am, I am just going to sleep a little later” which took my devotional time. Or “I know I should be in one of my girls’ rooms spending time with them, but I’m just going to stay in my apartment.”

Little things ripple out to set the tone for all of the people you minister to. What you do speaks so much louder than what you say. As an example, I know better of what it means to BE an example. Yes, I think there were many times when God’s grace was evidenced to the girls, but when I allowed selfishness to be an inward attitude, the Lord exposed that outwardly. The funny thing is that I thought no one really noticed my unChristlike spirit, when that was the first thing they could see.

You can choose transparency and show Christ or you can live transparently and be blindsided.

Leave a Reply

