Divine Disease

“Your words were found, and I ate them, and your words became to me a joy and the delight of my heart, for I am called by your name, O LORD, God of hosts.”Jeremiah 15:16

This summer I truly learned what it is like to feast upon Christ and His cross. Here is how:

The day before leaving to be a teen counselor at camp, I got a call from my doctor. “Daisy,” she awakened me cheerily, “we just got your bloodwork back and it looks like you do have some allergies to gluten and tend toward Celiac’s disease.”

Finding out that I am allergic to all of my favorite foods (my favorite restaurant has long been Panera Bread) really caught me off guard. I believe that my entire first week of camp, I looked around in wonder thinking “what in the world am I going to eat? I am SO hungry!” I struggled a little bit with my attitude toward God in this until I realized something very important: bread has always been an idol to me. Could it be that God designed this food allergy to help me remove an idol I’d long been praying about?

Throughout the rest of the summer, learning about Christ as my true satisfaction in the area of food branched into so many other areas of my ministry. When my heart was broken for girls who didn’t care, I was satisfied that GOD would change them and not me. When I labored in prayer hoping that God would repair my hurting heart, I was content knowing that God’s time table is completely perfect. When I would normally have tried to control or act in order to be seen, I rested in Christ as my glory.

God used a food allergy to show where my satisfaction in life lies and what it is truly like to taste Christ’s sweetness and delight in the feast at the King’s table. Can your god do that?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jules
    Aug 12, 2008 @ 14:27:34

    awesome post. i’m SO excited to hear all about camp 🙂 it’s sooo life-changing, i love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

