A Leader’s Prayer, A Leader’s Love

Lord, when I am wrong, make me willing to change; when I am right, make me easy to live it. So strengthen me that the power of my example will far exceed the authority of my rank.

~Pauline Peters~

As I’m learning to love others, my supervisor confronted my coworkers and I with this thought:

Luke 10:27 commands us to love our neighbor as ourselves. If we are to love someone else the way we love ourselves, will they be loved? I thought about that for a minute, then, as she continued, the light began to dawn: The way you love yourself is the way you will choose to love people.

So if you look at the way God made you critically, you will love others critically. If you love yourself indulgently, you will indulge, not edify other people. But if you discipline yourself and embrace the sovereignty of God’s creation, you will in turn, love others on Christ’s terms.

What an astounding consideration! I had never really associated how those two loves really inter-connected. I always assumed that that verse simply meant “love others with the love you naturally lavish upon yourself (Daisy Standard Version).” I do, however, see the truth in the fact that how you love yourself really will affect your perception of love toward others!

It all boils down to your view of God!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelsea
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 09:11:35

    It is so amazing to be able to benefit from what you are learning even when I’m not there! You are such an encouragement as a sister, and I love you so much! I miss you!
    ~Kelsea

    Reply

  2. Justina Nielsen
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 20:10:54

    Yes, this is so true. It is all about your view of God. When I think about it, most struggles I have would not be struggles if I had an accurate view of God. I guess that is a primary life goal- get to know God.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Roadsign Unheeded « The Path of Life

Leave a Reply

