Banalities

Why do people fling phrases over their shoulders like “feel better!” or “drive safely!” Aren’t you admonishing either a given factor or something outside of the person’s control? How many of us, when leaving someone’s home, have caught ourselves responding to “travel safely!” with “you too!” as the host stands firmly planted in their doorway? I love smiling and simply replying “actually, I’m staying here.”

On a serious note, how often do we spend our words instead of investing them? We put together sentences which neither exhort or admonish simply so that we have something trite to say in passing. Since that falls short of scriptural objectives (Heb 3:12-14; Eph 4, etc.), why say anything if it lacks sincerity? As I’m learning about servant-hearted communication, I’m convicted more frequently to either use my words to build up, exhort, admonish, etc. (Heb 3:12-14) or to refrain. Why throw words into the air simply because you feel like others will look on you well for being polite? I wish I could get this into my head and heart more frequently than I do!

Scripture doesn’t call us to politeness, it calls us to servantmindedness. Are you investing or spending?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allen Taylor
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 10:34:31

    Nice writing. You are on my RSS reader now so I can read more from you down the road.

    Allen Taylor

    Reply

  2. Jodi
    Sep 21, 2008 @ 08:34:33

    Daisy, I thought of this same thing today! Someone asked me the simple question “are you doing okay?” rather than “how are you?” After I responded with my polite “Yes, I am fine thank you!” I realized that this person was asking because they really wanted to know, not just to be polite.

    I thought of our conversation the other day when you said something about investing rather than spending time…I have been thinking a lot about that lately. I definitely want my life to be spent in a profitable way for Christ, investing what I say and do into the lives of others so that they can see Christ more clearly.

    I appreciate your thoughful, transparent posts…they are always so encouraging and challenging! :o)

    Love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

