Learning Curve

  1. Running across campus in pumps is an art. I have it down to a science.
  2. If I have to use the bathroom, I should close my apartment door. If I don’t my girls will knock on my door, charge into my apartment, find me with their built-in body heat sensors, pound on my bathroom door and start talking to me. I don’t like that. At all.
  3. If I am, shall we say, indisposed to answer my door, I should take one of two courses of action: I could run for cover. Ideally, however, I should just not respond. I should not run to the door partially clothed (the knocker will generally be a scandalized mom or a maintenance man.) I should not yell “come in!” and I should never, under any circumstances yell, “HOLD ON!” It is inevitable that I will be misheard and therefore have an uncomfortable yet memorable moment.
  4. If I change and do not put my clothes away, there will be some amazing reason that maintenance needed to do work in my bedroom while I’m out.
  5. I am discovering the culinary arts and am really enjoying them! Cilantro is my new favorite!
  6. I really do wake up in a much better mood if my apartment is clean.
  7. The smell of Pine Sol makes my stomach hurt and I will wake up sick the following morning.
  8. I still don’t respond cognizantly to being abruptly awakened.
  9. Luke 24 can be considered the homeground for biblical theology.
  10. Ministry is mercy-(2 Cor 4:1) If God chooses to use me, He is truly showing mercy to a sinner like me. I am honored to serve Him and can’t grasp that mercy. How thankful I am for that defining purpose in my life.
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jodi
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 07:44:59

    #3 and #4 are definitely HILARIOUS…mostly because I have been in those predicaments a time or two. Why is it that I am a complete neat freak until the day that maintenance needs to come by unannounced?? Who knew that I could change my outfit so many times in the 15 minutes that I had to get ready because my alarm didn’t go off because the power went out the night before…so now all 6 outfits that did not work are all over the floor and strewn across my unmade bed…and we don’t need to discuss what my bathroom looked like…yikes!!
    #10 might have to be my favorite though…wow!! What a responsability, but one I am greatful to have!!

    Reply

  2. Justina
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 21:27:07

    Yuck, I could never be a dorm sup

    Reply

  3. jules
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 21:35:16

    GREAT POST! i think we’ve talked about almost ALL of those points before šŸ˜‰ can’t wait to stop by again… i’ve been dying to hear more about last week, AND eat some of that soup you made, AND see that dress you got awhile back… MISS YOU šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

