Yahweh Shalom

When I trip on my path and sit on the ground trying to catch my breath and reorient myself, what are my meditations? Yet again, God has revealed that my faith really is stretching to meet the gap between what I learned this summer (what I know) with what I live now (what I do). Praise God that He is my Yahweh Shalom, my peace and place of perfect rest, just as He was to the Israelites. I am learning that all of my circumstances really come down to a conflict or tension. Am I really willing to acknowledge God’s sovereignty in them? As I’ve been seeking God’s guidance in my life, or “God’s will,” I haven’t found it-I’ve found a closer glimpse of God’s heart.

Lets work backwards through Romans 8. Many people dwell on the beautiful expose on God’s love at the end of the chapter, which includes these meaningful verses:

“What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare His own Son, but gave Him up for us all, how will He not also with Him graciously give us all things?

…Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?

…For I am sure that neither death nor lie, nor angels nore rulers nore things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:31-39)

Those sweet truths are what brought me through that section of the book. As I meditated on that, I wanted to put it into fuller context, so I read all of Romans 8. Do you know what I found? No wonder I have no reason to doubt His love for me!

1. He adopted me! Rom 8:15 says:”For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption as sons, by whom we cry, “Abba! Father!” His perfect plan of adoption set me free from bondage to sin. I can live free from fear and in daily victory! All because He sacrificed for me. A vile sinner.

2. He sanctifies and will glorify me! Verses 18-30 talk about these themes and remind us that because that loving God is really involved in my life, he continues to actively pursue my heart to purify me to reflect His breathtaking beauty. Verses 24-25 say: “For it is in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.” I have hope that I will look increasingly like Christ while on earth and that is the end of all circumstances God brings in my life.

With this profound expose on God’s loving plan of salvation, sanctification, glorification and the culminating reminder of His astounding love for me at the end of the chapter, I’d think that I’d not struggle with fear, as referenced in verse 15. But I do. I am paralyzingly, sinfully controlled by fear. One major, but common, cause of my fears stems back to self-love:

“I fear that if I do not love myself there would be no one left to love me quite so well as I do…the gospel assures me that the love of God is infinitely superior than any love I could give to myself. (Jn 15:13)” (Vincent, A Gospel Primer for Christians)

If God truly loves me enough to sacrifice His own Son, I can have no doubt that His plan for me is supremely good. It has everything to do with me placing that dependence upon Him and acknowledging that He can provide for me what I cannot-true, satisfying love. It is about knowing His heart, not His will. I can rest in my Yahweh Shalom.

“Be still, my child and know I’m your God, (Ps 46:10)

Rest to know the King of Glory is on your side

Let me bear all your pain and carry your load (Luke 11:28-30)

Oh be still my child, and rest in Me.”

(“Rest in Me”, by Cary Schmidt)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Roadsign Unheeded « The Path of Life
  2. Trackback: Resources for Luke 11:28 - 30

Leave a Reply

