Vertigo

Sometimes I wish I had stronger semi-circular canals or something. I can have pretty solid balance and flexibility sometimes, but when I don’t, EVERYONE knows it…

Last week, I went about my day and realized a little too late that I’d not eaten at all that day. I was in a store, and any time I bent over, I would nearly black out. This kept happening as I staggered through the store looking like a drunken woman, I’m sure! Don’t worry, I swung…swang…swinged through McDonald’s and remedied this situation.

Today, I was a little bored with my workout, so I decided to run one mile, do one circuit in the weight room, run another mile, then lift for two circuits instead of long chunks of both running and lifting. Cool little monotony breaker, I thought, but evidently it left me a little worn after round one of each. I was finishing my weight routine with some ball pikes and as I piked for the last time, I overextended, shot forward off of the ball and landed in a face-plant. How embarrassing. I probably scared the cooters out of the girl next to me, bless her sweaty little heart.

Then, I was finishing my last mile and was in a hurry to run back over to the circuit room. Instead of walking on the treadmill until it stopped, I stood still and thought “I’ll just let it carry me to the end, then hop off.” Great idea normally. Today? Not really. I got to the end, completely lost my balance, flailed my arms around in large windmill style, and actually landed kind of like a flamingo…in front of approximately 10 strangers.

These are the flagrant examples, of course. We don’t need to plumb the depths of the mundane, like when I trip on the sidewalk and laugh in my “pop-a-cork” style. Or how about when it’s rained outside and I walk into chapel on the tile floor and hydroplane in front of everyone? Nah, I dont want to bore you.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 21:40:17

    Hahaha. You made me laugh, Stephanie! Thanks for being humble enough to share! I thought I was the only one who did stuff like that. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jodi
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 03:49:25

    Have I ever mentioned that I miss you…and your bombastic laughter??? I am glad that you are my friend, and that I can laugh with you, even from this far away! :o)

    Reply

  3. Justina
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 15:11:13

    Wow, that’s pretty amazing, Steph. Did all this happen in one day? Sounds like the story of my life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

