There Are Some Things You Shouldn’t Say…

Yesterday I received a pleasant email:

Daisy,

A vase of beautiful flowers was just delivered for youJ Please come by and pick them up in my Office.

Abigail

I haven’t realized how exciting it is to get flowers! I purposefully made myself wait in order to savor the anticipation of running up to get them. Well, kind of. I really did have to finish with the mess that I was making in my entryway…but the anticipation was building nonetheless!

I ran to Abigail’s office to pick up my vase of fresh flowers and was surprised to find that a parent of one of my students had sent them to me! A sweet note was attached reminding me that he appreciated my care for his daughter. I loved it! I was so excited and when I left the office, the aforementioned daughter was walking down the sidewalk with her boyfriend. “Perfect!” I thought.

“Guess what!” I hollered with a huge grin on my face, “your dad sent me flowers!!”

“Oh no,” she moaned in a quiet voice, “that’s embarrassing. I hope you don’t take that the wrong way.”

What??? What would “the wrong way” be? Then I realized it. He is single.

So, while I don’t think there were any strange intentions to this, me yelling “YOUR DAD BOUGHT ME FLOWERS!” across a barrage of brick buildings so that it echoes EVERYWHERE is probably something I should never say.

Oopsadaisies!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jodi
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 19:50:10

    Hahahahaha! Only you…

    Reply

  2. Daisy
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 02:29:15

    I would willingly let someone else have a turn with the stupids…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

