Nice to meet you…or is it?

About two weeks ago, I traveled north to my girls’ basketball game…and committed a banalities blunder. While there, one of my friends introduced me to several of her friends at this college. Most of them I knew by name, but there was one friend that I’d already met before. When my friend introduced us, however, I did something really stupid. I assumed that he wouldn’t remember me, and I played along with the introduction like I didn’t know him. 

“Daisy this is Mr. X. Mr. X, this is Daisy.” He held out his hand, and I shook it and gave a banal “it’s nice to meet you! I hear about you all the time!” 

We all met after the game for coffee and snacks and when I left, I parted my new friends with an “I’m really glad I got to meet you!” When I said this to Mr. X, he smiled a knowing smile and asked “you know we met at church last year, right?” Oh junk. He did remember meeting me! But then why…wait a minute…

“You do remember that? I figured you wouldn’t so I’ve been pretending we’ve never met before!” I exclaimed in embarrassed wonder.

“Yeah, well, me too. But now we know that we know each other.” He shrugged sheepishly and everyone stared at us for a minute then burst out laughing.

So, which is more uncomfortable? Two people pretending they don’t know each other when they do or one person reminding another of their first introduction and the other having no recollection of it?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jules
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 20:03:35

    HAHAAA 🙂 nice one stephanie:D

    Reply

  2. looken
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 14:48:47

    I’m guessing this is a Mr. X from the Northland days of summer. Very funny happening.

    Reply

  3. looken
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 14:49:06

    By the way, you can call me Looken

    Reply

  4. Daisy
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 22:02:29

    Well, technically yes. But not from MY northland days. 🙂 Thanks, Looken. Can I call you “look?” How about Kook? It rhymes with Look…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

