Gravity

It is late and it has been a long day-not difficult, but certainly thought-provoking and thematic. You see, while on facebook, I noticed two girls’ profiles whom I’d had on my floor while I was an RA. They were great girls, full of life, spiritual growth, and personality. Now, however, one girl has a baby out of wedlock and the other is divorcing her husband. Both are culminations of small sin patterns that led to big, hurtful consequences.

“Whoa! What happened?” I wondered in shock. Could I have prevented this at all? 

Later on that night, one of my most trusted friends asked me “Dais, are you okay?” 

“Yeah, I’m fine. Why?”

“Well,” she shrugged, “you just seem as though you’ve lost your spark and I want to help if there’s anything you need.”

Lost my spark? Wow. What’s going on in my heart that I’m showing in my actions?

Then, after that, I had a meeting with another most trusted friend. During this meeting, I had to say some difficult things to her about the way that she leads people. It was painful and challenging, but what the Lord had planned. 

So, how do all of these things intertwine? The gravity of leadership. I make a personal impact of worship on the lives of so many. What do they learn from my example? Do they learn Christ? Do they learn the beauty of worshipping Him in holiness? That’s what I should be teaching people. 

Today it hit me again. Each day that I have, I teach people whether or not God is worth worshipping. I hope that they see in me the surpassing beauty of knowing Christ. And I hope that I don’t settle for less than that.

Leave a Reply

