Sleep

42-17760573Tonight as I prepared for sleep, I dropped to my knees, thirsty to talk with God. My heart was heavy, so I shared with Him, then read this refocusing prayer:

Blessed Creator,

Thou hast promised thy beloved sleep; Give me restoring rest needful for tomorrow’s toil. If dreams be mine, let them not be tinged with evil. Let thy Spirit make my time of repose a blessed temple of his holy presence.

May my frequent lying down make me familiar with death, the bed I approach remind me of the grave, the eyes I now close picture to me their final closing. Keep me always ready, waiting for admittance to thy presence. Weaken my attachment to earthly things. May I hold life loosely in my hand, knowing that I receive it on condition of its surrender…I retire this night in full assurance of one day awaking with thee…Withhold not thy mercies in the night season; thy hand never wearies, thy power needs no repose, thine eye never sleeps

Help me when I helpless lie, when my conscience accuses me of sin, when my mind is harassed by foreboding thoughts, when my eyes are held awake by personal anxieties.

Permit me to commit myself to thee awake or asleep.

As I sleep tonight, I ask God that my thoughts would reflect His holiness. I anticipate the sleep which will allow me to awaken in His presence-never to leave! How exciting and reassuring!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jules
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 02:23:19

    gave me tears. very moving, and wonderful things to keep in mind each day. love you steph, thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. matt
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 10:42:08

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

    Reply

  3. Daisy
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 11:12:06

    Jules, you are welcome. Funny thing is I had the worst night’s sleep that night-I woke up WORRYING at about 4:36 am, and then recalled this prayer and prayed that way to God. I did fall back to sleep and was grateful for a deeper understanding of how to pray for sleep!

    Matt-thanks and you are welcome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

