Creator of My Storm

let-it-rain

As I look over the past year, God has taught me lessons in most unexpected ways. I returned from camp excited and energetic to a dorm of girls which were absolutely splendid. I grew even more excited as I saw all of us genuinely seeking the Lord and wanting to change to be like him. I took Christlike care of my body and did things I never had before, including running my first ever 5K!

You see, I’ve always been healthy. Without taking vitamins, I made it through all 4.5 years of college with no more than one twenty-four hour cold. My family has always somewhat marveled at the fact that I’ve stayed remarkably healthy with little to no effort.

That slowly changed this year. I used to wake up refreshed and excited to spend time in God’s word. I’d tediously clean my apartment, minister to my girls, and exercise. Now, I wake up feeling like I’ve been lifting weights all night. I immediately feel nauseous and sluggish. I cry without reason and fall asleep during my devotions and other times throughout the day. I’ve lost the beautiful singing voice I used to have, and have had five sinus infections this year. I feel like I have a fever every night and I regularly feel “out of it, ” having a hard time processing thoughts into words. Not to mention that, despite my strict diet, I feel terrible every time I eat.

What has happened to me? I’ve seen a passal of doctors this year, even had a colonoscopy to try to isolate these issues. After treating the symptoms, the doctors told me I should be fine. But I wasn’t. I began thinking that I was crazy. “There’s nothing wrong with you-this is all in your head, you mental person,” I’d think to myself.

I remember a friend challenging me with this thought right before all of these problems began to compound: “Daisy, if God never takes this struggle away from you, will you still be okay? What if He lovingly leaves this in your life so that you look more like Him?” I really didn’t like him for saying that…but that has clung with me all year.

You know what I’ve learned? My weakness give me greater opportunities to show God’s glory to others. When my girls, family, or friends see me trying to do what I can in my physical infirmity, they know it is Christ and not me. When they see me cry, but still joyful to serve them, they have been touched by the Holy Spirit’s moving in me. When I lack bodily strength, I still have the tremendous power of prayer and I’ve seen it change lives!

I’ve not posted Oopsadaisies because, frankly, I haven’t found as much humor in the dark times, but I know the Light of this world who gives me hope for heaven.

I’ve learned, that, while God can still any storm, He’s the Creator of mine. And it’s for my good.

Addendum: I went to another doctor and found out that what I have is called “Candidiasis” or “Systemic Candida infection.” My diet will consist of meat, eggs, veggies, and plain yogurt for a while.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Justina
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 07:46:01

    I’m really glad I read that. That was really a blessing to me. I have been going through some issues off and on, I’m sure not as bad, but a lot of it sounded really familiar. I think I was just going through some depression. I always seem to forget that the trials we go through are God made and He is using them to bring Him glory. I wish I could go back and have a more Godly attitude about the struggles I have had in life instead of complaining about them. You are a blessing

    Reply

  2. Daisy
    Jun 29, 2009 @ 14:35:33

    Justina, honestly, there’s a lot I wish that I could go back and redo, so I know how you feel. No matter what you feel, the biggest blessing will be when you reach out to the best of your ability, even if it isn’t as great as you normally would. That will shout out God’s strength in your weakness so much louder than your voice ever could. Let me know how I can pray for you!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Better Every Day « The Path of Life

Leave a Reply

