Work Ethic

work_in_progressI just had this “Eureka!” moment that I simply had to share with my blog readers.

Genesis 2:15 shares that God created work in the garden before man sinned. Work was an original part of God’ plan for mankind-not a punishment for sin! In Genesis 3:17-19, sin cursed work by making it painful, difficult, and draining (using words such as “pain,” “thorns, thistles,” “sweat,” etc.) So God intends for us to be productive as a part of His plan for our completeness.

Though it may shade my character to those who think me perfect…ahem…I’ll be frank and say that I struggle with this ridiculous conundrum:

There are times that I have this paralyzing fear of work. If someone presents me with an idea, job, or need, I’ll shy away from it if I think it will take too much work. “That wears me out just thinking about it!” I’ll joke. Now fear in general can be paralyzing, but this is something I have no right to be fearful of!

The flipside of this conundrum is that, as I’m growing up, I have this innate desire to be productive and nurture. I want my apartment to be known as a place where people will be well taken care of-they will be warm and cozy, surrounded by nostalgic fragrance, given appealing food, listen to interesting music, and their soul will be tended to. Earlier this year I wanted to test out my green thumb as gardening has never been a part of my life. I bought some potted plants, transferred them, and, believe it or not, they are still thriving! I then wondered how challenging it would be to grow herbs for my own cooking. I haven’t started that, but it’s on my list.

So, to be unclear, I desire to be productive BUT I desire to avoid work. And realistically, people who avoid work, kill life.

God’s plan has always been for us to work and be productive. The temptation to be lazy is not where I live in Christ!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jonathan
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 17:31:56

    Interesting, never thought of it that way. Good post.

    Reply

  2. James Van Leuvaan
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 20:23:55

    so i’m confused here… are you saying that you don’t like to work and are avoiding this plan that God has for us, or are you saying that you have no excuse now to shy away from work that you hate?

    Reply

  3. Daisy
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 01:09:14

    James, I am saying my avoidance of work is illegitimate. I want the results, not the labor. God made me to want results. He also created us to enjoy being productive.

    Just being honest with the fact that I’m a sinner, but God still changes me because I’m his child.

    Reply

  4. James Van Leuvaan
    Dec 23, 2009 @ 13:00:42

    hi,

    just wanted to let you know to have a wonderful holiday season.

    I don’t know if you’re married or not, but I would assume you are, as is the way with most of the women of quality. And so it should be (i think).

    However, I have read much of your blog, and you’re quite without guile. It would be interesting, to be a fly on the way and actually watch and see what kind of person you are, and how you react, and respond to different events in your life directly.

    After all there is only so much a individual can see from another person’s writings.

    I am not making a pass at you. Better than that, I have the boldness of God in me, to be able to speak directly, without fear or doubt of the outcome.

    After all, all thing are as they should be, and God still rules the universe, even if we don’t understand the individual events.

    but anyway, I wanted to let you know you’re an interesting read, and to have a happy holiday ๐Ÿ™‚

    prost!
    james

    Reply

  5. Daisy
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 15:41:20

    Thanks, James. I’m glad you are not a fly on the wall! However when others see a smile, the thoughts on this blog are likely going through my head. God gives grace when I need it-not ahead of time.

    Reply

  6. carlajane
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 20:28:28

    Daisy my love we need a little blogspiration. ๐Ÿ™‚ I HAVE AN IDEA!

    Reply

  7. James Van Leuvaan
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 00:31:51

    well i’d never measure up if a fly were on the wall reporting all my doings and not doings, with a greater impact on the not doings i’m afraid.

    it is an interesting dychotomy to be born and created perfect, yet living in a body of sin, and being sinful.

    it is difficutl to reconcile on some occasions, thougn in most occasions, not really, i suppose.

    wish you the best.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

